An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Three is a magic number...

Backblipped 09.12.18

My phone alarm went off waking D and I from a very sound sleep (must check the make of mattress before we go as I had the best sleep in a long time.)   D asked why I had set the alarm so early, which made me laugh as it was 9.00am.

There was a strange noise coming from outside the bedroom window.  It was a pheasant having a crow to himself.

Discussion at breakfast was where to go for lunch!  lol   We decided on the Watermill as we've always had a great lunch there and there's a fantastic bookshop upstairs and a branch of Homer where we always find something lovely to buy.

We decided to go for a drive to Loch Tay before lunch so Agnes and Adrian piled into the back of our car .  The weather forecast had been heavy rain and high winds but the sky was blue and the sun was shining as we left the lodge, so we were really happy.

When we got to Loch Tay the sun was still shining but the wind had picked up.  We parked and got out to walk along the loch edge and I had planned to take lots of photos but the sun dipped behind a hill and looking up the loch we could see a weather front working it's way along the top of the hills towards us so I very quickly took a some photos.  The focus is shockingly bad in most of them but the wind was almost taking the feet from under me that's my excuse and I'm sticking to it :-)  I made this lot stop and pose for me as I wanted to have at least one photo of them at Loch Tay.  We were just back in the car when the rain started.

Drove back to Aberfeldy on the opposite side of the river which took us past the place whose road sign always makes me laugh - Dull - which is apparently twinned with Boring in Oregon, USA :-))

It was a joy to be back in the Watermill, Aberfeldy, with its comfy sofas, welcoming log burner and the aroma of gingerbread latte, homemade soup and delicious home baking. Agnes and Adrian opted for the soup, David and the Watermill mixed platter and I had a seeded roll with garlic and herb chicken with spinach, basil and cashew pesto and rocket.  Each and every dish delicious.

Of course we also had something naughty too.  Hot choc and a flapjack for Agnes, gingerbread lattes for Adrian and me along with Victoria sponge and a pecan/maple pastry and coffee and Victoria sponge for David.  We could hardly move afterwards so relaxed some more in the lovely, warm environment of the cafe.

Adrian and Agnes headed upstairs to the bookshop and D and I headed to Homer where we bought a teapot to match the cups and saucers we bought the last time we were here, as well as a few little Christmas decs because of course we need more decs! 


We had planned to have dinner at the Three Lemons in the evening but having had lunch quite late and given how cold and dark it was, we decided to head back to the lodge and just relax and get a takeaway from the local Italian restaurant in the evening.

Agnes went for a bath and a nap when we got back.  David went for a Nanna nap.  Adrian and I teased them both about getting old and not being able to keep up with us.  Adrian then dozed off on one of the sofas and I dozed off on the other!  Pot and kettle :-)))

We all felt very refreshed after our late siestas.  At around 8pm David and Adrian headed off to pick up dinner from the Italian.  When they returned we charged our glasses, enjoyed dinner, watched I'm a Celebrity then spent a hilarious couple of hours playing a conversation starter game that saw us covering all manner of topics, leading to some very hilarious conversations and opinions.  I love that Agnes and I have known each other for 42 years and our OH's for 35years yet we can still surprise each other with out thoughts and opinions.

It was also fantastic being in an area where the wifi code is virtually non-existant, helped along by the O2 network being down for 24 hours.  

Such a lovely day.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.