Transitoire

By Transitoire

Marché de Noël

Recovery. So my morning was spent recovering from the night before, and the discovery of a new hat that I have obviously picked up from someone...if it is anyone's, let me know!

So by the time I felt more human again, it was time for Becky and I to meet Lizi at train station. We met Lizi at the training day, and she is all the way out in Argentan... a little town in the middle of, well, nowhere. Apparently there aren't really many people her age in the town, and she lives in the school with a German and a Spanish assistant. Although her French has probably improved a lot quicker than mine has, but I don't envy her. Her teachers also don't seem the nicest...I'm so glad I'm where I am!

Anyways, after we dropped off Lizi's stuff at mine and had a quick cup of tea/hot chocolate (so English!) we went to meet Pawel at Saint-Pierre and went for more hot beverages at Tour Solidor. Had a definite sense of déjà-vu as I had definitely ended up there the night before and drinking drinks that were a lot more potent! After having some very interesting conversations on life and future plans we were soon joined by Meg, her boyfriend and Claire for yet more drinks! When Meg and her boyfriend left we all set off for Caen Christmas market...apparently one of the top ten in France! Although it really did get me in the Christmas spirit, I didn't really want to buy anything from any of the stalls. Tell a lie, we all bought some Vincho (vin chaud - vincho) (Mulled wine) and wandered round all the stalls drinking in the Christmas atmosphere. And it really does feel it here! There are so many Christmas lights, everywhere, and they're absolutely gorgeous. Makes me feel like I'm walking round some sort of film set to be honest!

After wandering round the Christmas market for an hour or so the girls decided we were hungry so there was only one place to go with a new person...Dolly's. I swear they know who we are by glance now, we're in so often! I had the best fish and chips I have had in a very long while. In fact, my first fish and chips in France (not very popular in France, I will have to admit!). The batter was sublime and perfectly seasoned...and the tartar sauce was sensational! Salivating thinking about it now.

The night was finished by an apple, pear and chocolate crumble and another coffee, but this time in Les Touristes. We were really tired after the journey to Caen/night out so we went home. Lizi and I spent the next few hours chatting about all kinds of subjects, it's somehow comforting to know that other people have similar issues and problems while being abroad. We also watched some English television...as again, Warwick seems to be the only university that offers a free IP address scrambler so you can actually watch English television! Thanks Warwick!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.