Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Something old - #WidWed121218

Last time I did an inside shot for WidWed I used the Great Hall in Winchester, so obviously today it had to be the Cathedral.  Besides, I had a bit of a scope out a couple of days ago when I did the Tower Tour.  Then (Monday) we walked above this ceiling decoration, just under the roof beams.  Today I got the camera right down by the floor and shot up which caused a concerted gasp from the visitors.

Interested here by the faint coloured light, green and purple.  As the bottom half clearly comes through the windows this side, and the upper half might come through the windows the other side, I have to think that in the dark grey afternoon it must be a faint beam from the flood lights.

I know I've blipped the ceiling before, though I can't be bothered to find it in my fragmented filing system.  That first shot was of the transept anyway, whereas this is the nave.  Winchester Cathedral has the longest nave in Europe, so hopefully it will be wide enough for BobsBlips' WideWed challenge, and old enough for the 'Something Old' subject as it was last remodelled in the 13th century  ;))  Thank you so much for hosting, Bob.

Tired today - must be all the shopping, cleaning, wrapping, posting, blah.  I feel too old to still be queen bee doing the Christmas prep.  Ridiculous.  What a moaner!!

Happy Wednesday/evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.