An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Tea for two...

Short and sweet tonight as my throat is on fire and I feel awful.  Think I've caught Alan's cold.  How he manages to still be cheery when feeling like this is beyond me.  He's such a trouper! 

Didn't start the day feeling this way, in fact I was up at 7.30am and downstairs to get on with the day.  Lots to do.

We had just sat down to lunch when Lola jumped up from her slumbers and skipped out the kitchen door.  A sure sign that someone had arrived.  It was John who had brought up David's birthday gift for Sunday.  He usually pops up unexpectedly with our birthday gifts so I should have realised he would appear.

He'd already had lunch but was happy to have a cuppa and a biscuit and chat for a while.  Alan as over the moon at getting an unexpected visit from Grandpa as was Lola, although Lola was less chuffed when Grandpa ate all his biscuit and didn't share.

John left just before 3pm and David headed off to the dentist to get his grumbly tooth checked (dentist gave it a clean bill of health so don't know why he's been feeling pain.)  I retreated to the study yet again and carried on with the Christmas wrapping (gifts that is.  I've not turned into DjJazzy Di!  ;-))

Finally managed to get the three lots of birthday gifts (David, Ele and niece Jennifer) separated from the Christmas stuff, although I got very confused in the process.  I think it's sorted now and everything should be in the correct bags.  If not, Ele is going to be very confused when she finds a box of golf balls in amongst her gifts!) 

David returned home, I dug my way out of the study to be greeted by a very welcome G&T and in the short time it took me to get from the study to my chair in the garden room, my throat was on fire!   I honestly couldn't believe it at first.  It flared up so quickly!

And as if the prospect of going out for a lovely dinner tomorrow evening with a sore throat isn't bad enough, the weather forecast thoroughly depressed me as it's for snow, snow and more snow and treacherous ice.  Back to normal on Sunday apparently.  Of course it is.  We don't have plans for Sunday so nothing to disrupt.  Hmph!  

And now I shall take my grumpy head to bed and hope to wake up in the morning feeling much better. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.