Patch

What with the construction scenery, barren ground and overhanging stairwell, this is not a view that will win prizes for aesthetics. It's what I see out of my back window, and it's nice to have a patch of Earth to retreat to when things are mad. I think I'll like this apartment when I finally unpack all my boxes. I also must remember to explore up the stairwell more often. There's a rooftop space that only myself and the neighbour have access to, and whilst there is a load of junk up there, I will enjoy chilling with a book in the Mozambican sun.

The guy who watches the building at night, Avelino, knocked on my door this evening to introduce Celestino, a new guy with whom he'll be alternating. It was all very pleasant and polite, and I appreciated it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.