LAMdmark

I was asked to join a short mission with World Bank and government colleagues back to Chimanimani where I visited very recently for the biodiversity surveys. This is potentially very useful to pin down what support the Reserve may need from my organisation in 2019, so I can fundraise and workplan with more details.

A flurry of press excitement on the runway as we boarded the plane in Maputo for the trip to Chimoio. The first ever fully female crew flown by Linhas Aéreas de Moçambique (LAM), the national airline. A camera crew on board conducting passenger interviews, free pens being handed out and shouts of 'Parabéns' to all involved.

Later at dinner one of the national news channels was covering the story and several of my colleagues were featured, as was the top of my head. Despite the style of government-backed journalism drawing general derision from the group, I found it very useful for language learning due to the slow, clear and deliberate delivery. I'll tune in again.

One of my colleagues received a message from a friend in Maputo when he said he was off to Chimoio. 'Bring squid.' As Chimoio is one of the most inland capitals in a country with 2,700 kilometres of coastline, it doesn't seem the most obvious place to source high quality seafood.

The building pictured as we waited for other group members is typical of Chimoio's drab looming architecture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.