Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Not a Leaf

I was out walking around parts of Cannock Chase as L rode out.  According to the weather forecaster on Radio 5 this morning we have now reached the latest time for sunrise and it will now start to become earlier again.  That despite the shortest day still be a few days away.  it got me wondering why the shortest day doesn't have the latest sunrise and earliest sunset, but despite having some time to think about it I couldn't rationalise it.

Anyway it was a glorious, bright morning, though the sunlight now struggles to penetrate many of the forested areas of the Chase.  I was taken by the starkness if this scene and lack of leaves, save for some bramble leaves amongst the bracken.

I don't usually say this but this definitely looks better against a dark background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.