My scooter...

...came this morning when it was supposed to.

Absolutely pouring rain so the delivery guy bought the huge box into my kitchen for me. I had intended putting the scooter straight into the car, apart from charging the battery. But that wasn’t possible in this driving rain.

I cannot move in my kitchen now...no room. Popeye is disgusted, he has temporarily lost his chair, access to food and water (he has another water bucket in the front room). I couldn’t even get to the kitchen door to lock it.

Anyway, managed to open box and set up scooter in the box. It turned out the batteries were fully charged. So put them on and sat on the scooter. I turned the key and drove the scooter four inches forwards and four inches backwards. That was all the room I had!!!

But it works!!!

However the best thing is the battery. I struggle lifting them. I was worried going for this scooter because of the battery size. I already have to put the previous battery in my walker to get it into the bungalow to charge.

I thought the battery for this scooter had broken in transit...it was in two halves. There was no mention on the site that the battery split into two, no mention of that on the scooter specifications/description. Imagine my relief when the two parts of the battery slotted together.

It is brilliant that I can just lift half the battery weight at a time. It is a selling point. But it wasn’t mentioned anywhere.

Then I needed to lock the kitchen door. So I dismantled the very large cardboard box bit by bit, and all the packaging that came with it. Finally I had a pile of bits of cardboard etc. And I was finally able to move round the scooter to lock the kitchen door.

The rain is just like sheets and sheets of water so the scooter will have to remain in the kitchen until tomorrow, and then I can test it properly. Not just a few inches forwards and backwards!!!

All those cardboard pieces will last forever as stencils for my my gel plate printing. Not just as corrugated stencils but accidentally I found it very easily made stencils with indentations, and it was easy to carve a simple rose stencil and pull the the top pieces off. Then there was the rest of the packaging inside and the large bubbles on the bubble wrap.

Responsibly dispose of the packaging the instructions tell me...well I will be won’t I...there won’t be a scrap wasted !!!

The only thing is all this packaging in the front room now, and I cannot move it to the garage yet because of the wind and rain.


I collapsed asleep for the next few hours on the couch. I got very little sleep last night because I had checked out my energy (dual fuel) supplier online because of something blipper R4T said, as a result of me blipping about the data collection agency they employ to take readings. What I found made my body panic.

I got a shock. Because the paper bill my energy supplier were intending to send out, for this quarter, had a vastly inflated gas reading due to a mistake in the gas reading by the data collection service they employ. And it would have left me a £1,000 in debt to my energy supplier, when in actual fact I was in credit to my energy supplier by at least £200 even with what should have been the correct impending bill (I pay monthly so I never get into trouble with big bills).

Anyway I put the correct gas and electric readings in online, but even the electric reading had been a little high on this online copy of the paper bill which has not been sent yet. There are red warning notices on it and it says UNSENT in red.

I am guessing there must be some computer program which flags up bills that look very unusually high.

And I am guessing my energy supplier contacted the Data Collection Services to check this. And also this is why the Data Collection Services contacted me by letter a couple days ago, but it was very telling that they only asked me for the electric reading, and not the gas reading which presumably had been flagged up by my energy provider. The Data Collection Services were not going to admit a whopping mistake.

So this made me look up my previous quarterly dual fuel bill online. I got another shock. Now the paper bill I had received for my dual fuel bill for that time was the correct reading (I always copy the meter person’s reading), and double check the meters myself.

BUT, there were two bills online for the same date. One was labelled with red alerts and labelled UNSENT, in red. It was another vastly inflated bill putting me £600 in debt with my energy suppliers. But I was never aware of that unsent bill. I only got the second bill, the amended corrected bill, the paper bill (through my letterbox) which was with the correct readings.

I have had no need to look online before for my energy suppliers, as I receive a quarterly correct paper bill through the letter box.

I have googled the Data Collection Services and the stuff I am finding is not very good about them on forums and stuff.


Today I was concentrating on my new mobility scooter working. But tomorrow I will check my energy provider online again to see if they have corrected/amended my bill.


Always something!!!!


Thank you for all my lovely messages and stars and faves yesterday for my special Blipday!!! It took me by surprise, I hadn’t realised. You put me in second page of ‘Popular’ !!!

I will try and get some decent sleep tonight. And test my new scooter tomorrow.

Look after yourselves and take care x


UPDATE with Popeye. I covered the scooter seat with towels in case Popeye should exercise his claws. Then I wrapped some of the plastic packing round the delta handlebars of the scooter, because that foam stuff to make my hands comfortable are very tempting to cat’s claws. I just went in the kitchen to make a cuppa and there was Popeye on the scooter seat...hence a photo cartoon of him in extras...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.