Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Jim's House

I promised I would go and get a shot of Jim's house  (not  far from me) to compare with the Hamilton house I blipped here.  In comparison, Jim's house is very low key but he and his wife have made every decoration aside from the lights.   He told me the nutcrackers were made out of buckets.  He has Santas workshop in the bottom and in main window there is a Roebuck rocking horse.  One of my dearest friends was a Roebuck of the Roebuck rocking horse family.  Jim had to remake the bottom and other bits.  He also made three wise men to the left and his wife made the clothes for them but they are out of view and the spot light was bung. so you couldn't really see them.   A Santa and reindeers fly down on a wire but he has them wrapped up in plastic and pulled back because of the rain - speaking of which it is now pouring down so I made it just in time with this shot.  Jim said he has been decorating his house for 45 years!

Not really fitting Bobs theme today of shoppers but to be honest, I was nowhere near shoppers for a blip as I was at the Salvation Army toy warehouse sorting toys and gifts for the morning and then it was back to work.   It was a community volunteer thing through work.   A note to those who donate Christmas gifts, please don't wrap them or put a card on them as it all has to be removed when they are sorted.  I did over 10,000 steps in that warehouse in three hours  and it was a hot house as it wasn't air-conditioned.  Anyway, this is wide so I will tag it for Wide Wednesday but also for the Community Christmas challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.