Early Morning - Last Chance

My last opportunity to take early morning photos before we left for home yesterday.  I wanted to see if I could get some appropriate movement in the gondolas while being aware of the way the mooring posts overlapped the view of the church beyond.  I haven’t quite got it right here.  Taken at about 7.20am in the morning (though my exif data shows UK time - an hour earlier).  I’ve really enjoyed my early morning wanderings along the waterfront and watching the real life of the city begin, people sweeping pavements and chatting (see extra) or unloading barges and then setting off with their handcarts to negotiate those numerous steps leading up to the bridges.  

We had time for a short walk in the morning once we were packed and returned to the `magic shop’ to buy `magic’ card trick packs for grandchildren and step grandchildren.  (They just need dad’s or Grandad Taid to help them with the trick -  I’m sure they’ll manage the performance element just fine.  Our young man who performed the tricks in the shop was wonderful).

I felt really pleased with myself yesterday about how well I’m beginning to put this part of the city together and work out which alleyways connect where and we managed to get to Marco Polo’s square (Corte Second del Milion) really easily on our walk.

As we left the hotel with our bags we almost literally bumped into Laura who was in charge of breakfasts  so it was lovely to have another chance to say goodbye and thank you.  We have met some delightful people on this short holiday.

Our Alilaguna trip to the airport and flight went really well and it was lovely to have Craig meet us and drive us home.   (Home by seven, and feeling pretty tired.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.