Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Oh dear...

Well, this is the latest I have ever seen chipmunks out in the garden.  This little one was making trips from the woods, across the yard, and up on the patio to gather sunflower seeds.  I tried to make it easier for her by dumping a pile of seeds right at the edge of the woods, but she seems not to have noticed them in her haste to scamper across the yard.  I think this is a young chipmunk, probably from the last brood of summer - perhaps her mum kicked her out before winter, or maybe her mum fell prey to something.  Hard to know.  But you can be sure I'll be providing plenty of seeds. 

It's been a quiet day here. SIL has been out all day and Hubs is working in the basement.  So I spent some time out in the garden (all bundled up because... baby, it's cold outside!)  And now, I may grab a book and sit in front of the fire.   

I have to add that my day started on a sour note when I read a thread on a friend's FB page that was comparing the current and former First Ladies and basically taking a pretty big swipe at the former FL for an outfit she was wearing.  I got me to thinking that I'm not sure how we got to this place where even fashion choices have become deeply politicized.  And what ever happened to that old rule our mom's taught us about "if you can't say something nice, don't say anything at all?"  Social media seems to have given a lot of people the impression that it's perfectly okay to say whatever the hell they want, even if it is incredibly unkind and hurtful.  Okay, rant over.  And one final thought - I'm really glad the paparazzi doesn't follow me around, because if people thought Mrs. Obama made a bad fashion choice on this one occasion, I'd be horrified to think what they would say about my fashion choices on any day of the week.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.