Salvador!

I was up at 7:30 am had a shower and made a coffee with my new foldable travel kettle and foldable filter that I got from Neil.
Then I went out into the patio. 
The whole hotel is very quiet and peaceful, well it is an old convent, so that is somewhat expected. 
When Neil got up and was showered, we had breakfast.
I managed to ask foe eggs and we got omelettes and I got a tapioca Romeo an Juileta, which is cheese and Guava jam.
At noon time we managed to get out and explored Salvador’s beautiful colonial old town. We live in the middle of it!
We walked through the pelourinho and the different squares. Neil got a on street Chiropractic treat meant by a tiny woman.
It was hilarious, especially when she took him on his back, and a breeze came, lifting his kilt!!!
I was fast enough to cover his modesty, as he had his arms locked in hers. 
Then she of course wanted payment for the treatment and Neil paid 6 Pounds for the experience!

We then took the elevator down to the bay and visited the Mercado Modelo, which is a huge, old 3 story building with shops and restaurants in a flea market style.
We bought some cheap t-shirts and light trousers, that we will love on the Island we are going to tomorrow.
It was hot and we suffered a bit not being used to it yet.
We went back up, had an ice cream and then stopped at a cafe on one of the main Pelourinho Squares and watched the world go by.
The coffee was brewed at our table!! Fancy, see extra :)
On the way back to the hotel we dropped in a shop and bought leather sandals, for 10 GBP a pair. We tried pretty much every pair in the shop and I practiced my Portuguese.
It is getting better :).
We stopped close to the hotel at a bar with a balcony looking over the bay and had a couple of beers and some bolinhos with Carne de Sol.
Back in the hotel I had a shower and Neil went back to the bank, as we needed some more cash and he had exhausted his limit earlier.
I started packing and sorting.
I was knackered and ready for my bed, but we went out again to the bar we visited last night and sat on the street, had caipirinhas and some more food.
I had Carne de Sol with farofa and salad, Neil had fried manioc with beef. It was tasty and very cheap. I think we paid just above 20 pounds!
We walked back to the hotel and fell to bed at midnight.

Tomorrow we will be picked up at 10:30 to go to Boipeba!

Blipping the Elevador Lacerda, which connects the old town with the harbour bay. Costs 0.15 Real - which is next to nothing - about 3 pence.

Extra - the fancy coffee :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.