Mistletoe Day

So we're well into it now, I trust? Not just me...? 

I can barely stand from eating and I'm sure my liver is writing letters signed "disgusted of incredibish" to The Times, and there's so so much more to come. I'm going to feel appropriately guilty in the end, but here we are, past Solstice Yule and with Christmas ahead. Let loose the cranberry!

Lore tells us, if you have any time for it, that today is Mistletoe Day. What a fabulous plant it is too. Baldur's bane, the only thing that could kill the beautiful Norse god of light, overlooked by Frigga, but not by Loki.

Druid lore speaks of climbing oak trees wherein Mistletoe grew (a rare event) to cut down the plant with a golden sickle, to be caught in a white robe held by virgins before it could touch ground.

All I can tell you is that there is Mistletoe all around our outside doors. And following a huge and lovely buffet with family friends we're home again waiting for visitors, and working up a new appetite and thirst, and loosening belts.

Diet? What diet?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.