Christmas morning

We're not very Christmassy here! No presents to open, since everything we've bought each other is already "in use". Notably a manual citrus presser, which Mr A has already been using at weekends and on "high days" to make freshly squeezed orange juice. And a lovely Seasalt cardigan for me, which I've already worn to go out once. The Christmas books have been, or are being, read. We do enjoy buying each other things, but we're both rubbish at keeping them for Christmas Day (or even for birthdays). So that means today certainly hasn't been about opening presents. It was, though, about catching up with a few people. I had a good chat with L, who is in Myanmar with La. They'd just finished their Christmas lunch, and were heading back to the airport to fly back to Singapore.

I started writing this blip entry hours ago, and then got side tracked into looking at last Christmas, which to be fair was not an exciting blip but was in the middle of an exciting trip, and then ended up reading forward for a month or more through our return to Helsinki, our trip to Rovaniemi, our trip back here for the kitchen works to start, and then my return again on my own to Helsinki. Blip does that to you. Perhaps one of the most exciting things about last Christmas Day was getting a Thai cookery school voucher from La, which productively used up our only morning in Bangkok, and which has resulted in my cooking a few Thai curries in the new kitchen, in the wonderful wok we purchased in Helsinki just before we came home. So there's a sentence that knits a few disparate strands of our life in the last year together.

Little else exciting here. We had a pleasant walk around our usual parades this morning, when there were few people around - just the odd dog walker, and some runners. My tooth is **still** hurting, and I'm still pissed off about it. Luckily paracetamol seems to ease it. And happily my toe seems better. As I said to L this morning, the operating system seems to be ok, but the peripherals are a bit dodgy at present.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.