Lone runner

I wasn't expecting to go to Portobello on Christmas Eve morning, but I had quite a lot of pain in my tooth overnight, so I rang the dentist first thing, and they offered me an appointment in 50 minutes time. Cue running around getting dressed, and - contrary to my usual practice - I had to drive to Porty instead of cycling. It seems that the tooth needed a bit of reshaping. Let's hope that fixes it. It certainly feels more natural in the mouth and in my "bite", but I was warned that the pain wouldn't go immediately. Great. (Well, not great actually, as this was cosmetic dentistry that I was sceptical about at the time...). Let's hope I have sufficient supplies of paracetamol in the house to see me through Christmas.

I popped to a yoga class at Projekt 42, which was fun - I'm finally starting to get the hang of it - then cycled to Stockbridge to pick up some bits and pieces to make a Thai curry. I saw TOS in Waitrose and AJ on the street in Stockbridge. There's no anonymity in Edinburgh...

My Thai curry was OK, but not great. I seem to have lost the touch. But the edges of life were blurred by a couple of very pleasant bottles of wine drunk over the course of the afternoon and evening. L and L have gifted us a decanter for Christmas - Mr A had to open it when it arrived in the post, to make sure it wasn't broken, as the delivery firm had completely mangled the JL packaging. Luckily was fine, and we've been enjoying its aesthetic lines, colours and reflections on the dining room table for a few days, until we finally had a bottle of red worthy of decanting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.