Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Christmas (Jumper) Day!

Happy Christmas everyone! Another Christmas seems to have come around so quickly again this year, I can not quite believe it is now over for another year. 

Last night our Christmas Eve dinner was lovely - the boys are usually quite critical of my cooking (cheeky sods), I usually get 'hmm, the broccoli is a bit overcooked' from I-know-it-all-because-I-lived-in-Paris-Luke, or 'are you sure those tastes complement each other?' from Masterchef -junkie-Thomas, or 'why did you not weigh it before cooking?' from I-am-counting-my macro-nutrients-and driving-everyone-crazy-Adam. Last night's dinner was declared perfect! It was lovely to include my friend and the evening went off very well. Apparently the taste of the various dishes all complemented each other extremely well...according to Thomas.

This morning we had another perfect meal - Adam made Eggs Royal for breakfast. He poached the eggs perfectly in swirling water, made the smoothest Hollandaise sauce, served it on salmon on toasted ciabatta and it all tasted delicious. This was followed by the opening of presents - ridiculously indulgent with the boys excelling themselves in their gifts to us. Luke bought me a ticket to the Michael Bublé concert in May, Thomas bought me some exquisite ginseng tea, and Adam bought the family a rather excellent personalised Monopoly set called Rochopoly (a pun on our surname) which has been entirely personalised for places we have lived or are of interest to us. 

The Christmas meal was cooked with no panicking or problems (a first!), and we finally sat down to a feast at 4pm - we watched the Queen's Speech on iPlayer while eating lunch, and after we finished our meal we played a game of trivia questions. A totally relaxing day and most enjoyable indeed.

The boys obliged by allowing me to take a photo of them in their new Christmas jumpers. We will spend a relaxing evening playing board games and watching some TV.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.