Selfie With The ‘Queen’

Well, not the Queen, exactly, but my friend Queenie. Today was a day of lots of visiting. Queenie was one of my mother’s dearest friends and I try to visit her 3-4 times I year if I can. She lives near Bath so it’s a bit of a drive from home. The last two years I went to see her on Christmas Day but I’m not able to do that this year as I’ll be flying in that morning. And Queenie has moved into a care home this year, so at least she won’t be alone on Christmas Day.

Whenever I am with Queenie we always discuss and compare our hair. Queenie is almost 90 years old and has hardly any grey in her hair. Unlike me, over 30 years her junior, with plenty of grey! It was a happy visit catching up with news over a cup of tea.

Besides seeing Queenie, I made 4 other stops today. I started with a visit to Sainsbury’s with a list of things to contribute to my sister’s big Christmas feast. I then stopped in Chippenham to have lunch with some friends before going to see Queenie who lives not far away. After seeing Queenie I stopped in Swindon on the way back along the M4 to see fellow-blipper Honeycombebeach and Mr HCB. We always have a good long chin-wag and it was hard to pull myself away from their delightful company!

The last stop today was to my sister’s near Newbury/Basingstoke for dinner. I dropped off the food for Christmas that I’d bought earlier as well as most of the Christmas presents for her family, which will make it easier for me on Christmas Day. I didn’t stay too long and by the time I got home I had driven 175 miles and it was past 10pm. A tiring but happy day with lots of lovely people!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.