The New, New, NEW Reading Station

I’ve managed to avoid the centre of Reading this Christmas season but today I had one last gift to buy in a specific store in town, so off I went on the train. The journey is an extremely short 6 minutes so I don’t know why I don’t go in more often. As there was no sense of urgency for me, I really enjoyed mooching around and seeing the Christmas lights and decorations.

I really like the ongoing development around the station, including this, the ‘new’ version of the main part of Reading Station, opened in 2014. The original Reading Station was opened in 1840, But was replaced in 1860. This later building is the one I remember when our family moved to Reading in 1972 (see first Extra photo). This building was replaced in 1989 when the station was redeveloped (see second Extra photo). The older building was then turned into a pub, The Three Guineas.

Finally, we have the 4th version of Reading Station, shown here in my main blip picture. I quite like it though I’m not sure everyone shares my view! It’s better than the 1989 version, surely!

After my gift buying and wandering around town, I made it back to the station and had a light meal and some mulled wine in The Three Guineas before catching the train back home. Since we’re having amazingly warm weather for December, I was even able to sit outside and enjoy their twinkly lights. A very enjoyable outing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.