Swedlish Christmas

Today was a jam-packed full day, starting with a friend and neighbour whom I hadn't seen in ages coming over for breakfast. Then I dashed off to my sisters and helped her do a few things to get ready for Christmas. They had just put their tree up yesterday so after letting my SISTER be the one up the ladder, I put most of the other decorations up.

Dolly and I had a nice but brief walk in the woods on the way back to Reading before I dropped her off at her dogsitters as I would be out all evening. I enjoyed an hour or so there as we exchanged some gifts before I dashed back home in time for a friend picking me up to go out for dinner.

There's a fairly new restaurant in nearby Wargrave that had advertised a 'Swedlish Christmas' menu on Thursdays throughout December. Karin, the chef, who also runs a very popular coffee shop in the village, is Swedish and she had put together an interesting set menu - Swedish Smörgåsbord for the first course and a traditional English Turkey Christmas dinner for the main course, followed by Christmas pudding and Swedish pepparkaka cookies. We had a wonderful evening! My friend is also American but she comes from a Swedish heritage herself so she was familiar with all the food. It was all delicious and beautifully presented and Carl, the chef's brother provided gracious service. As we left we said would they please continue to serve Swedish food as it was all so delicious and we want more!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.