Long Walk On The Shortest Day

I stayed home from church yet again - I’m still coughing and sneezing - plus - I pulled a muscle yesterday when I took some things to the tip. I didn’t think it was very bad but I was suddenly in agony in the middle of the night. After a sleepless couple of hours I fell asleep again and allowed myself to sleep late. I nursed my back with alternating ice and heat and watched the church service webcast. Love being able to do that!

I needed to keep moving and it was a lovely day with only a few showers around so I drove to a spot where I knew I could walk along paved farm tracks and not get buried in mud. The first picture is an almost totally flooded field that I passed. There are many fields like this in our area. The poor sheep feeding in the corner. There’s not much field left for them.

I turned around and suddenly saw the rainbow. The sky was changing so quickly. Thankfully there was no more rain. I continued to drive to where I was planning to walk and I enjoyed almost an hour of brisk walking, taking in the beautiful sunset. I used to walk Dolly here when it got so wet there was almost nowhere else to go. It’s been AGES since I’ve been back.

I spent much of the rest of the evening catching up on the cross country skiing I missed this morning. They are still in Slovenia and today there was the team sprint. Yesterday they had to ski in a thunderstorm with rain and hail. Today was also crazy conditions but this time heavy heavy snow and very little visibility. Both days have been very challenging for the skiers but it was exciting to watch!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.