Christmas Blipmeet

I was up early this morning and made an early trip to the tip and then went to Costco (with breakfast at McDonald’s in between!). I only went into Costco for one item plus a short list for 2 other people. But somehow I walked out having purchased a new doorbell and a small vacuum cleaner and a few other things. Costco is dangerous!!

When I got home I got a message from Mark Littledale asking if he and Rachel could stop by briefly. I was delighted and said yes! Mark and Rachel are childhood friends from church youth group days and it was Mark who introduced me to blipfoto a few years ago. Our visit lasted just long enough for a cup of tea and some cakes, as they were going on somewhere else. Mark’s blip is here.

I just HAD to take a picture of Mark’s amazing embellished Christmas jumper. Rachel makes an addition to it every year. I had to guess what they all signified. I thought maybe it was holidays, but I was wrong. When I was told that this year’s addition was a dragon, I KNEW! Mark retired from John Lewis/Waitrose a little while ago and each year’s addition is based on that year’s John Lewis Christmas advert. How clever!

This year’s advert is here.

The other big news today is that the new baby in our family was born at 3am this morning! Baby Toby is my sister’s third grandchild and cousin to my other two great nieces, Aneeta and Jasmine. I shall be meeting baby Toby on Christmas Day. Can’t wait!

There was of course skiing today, this weekend from Planica in Slovenia. It was a sprint racing today. The conditions were terrible! Rain, thunder and lightening and hail! The snow was all man-made and the track just like a white ribbon. But I’m very happy to say that one of the racers from the US - Julia Kern - got the bronze medal - it was her first sprint final and the first time for her on the podium. For the men’s race, France’s Lucas Chanavat won a World Cup race for the first time in his career. A very nice early Christmas present for both of them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.