Decorations Old & New, Part 2

These two decorations are new this year and were a gift from my sister! When I went to see her the other day, we exchanged and opened gifts, but she also sent me home with a ‘stocking’ for the end of my bed ok Christmas morning! This is something she does for all her family who usually stay with her at Christmas. There are sometimes LOTS of people there! I usually sleep on a sofa or the floor or even in Alfie the Campervan (2 years ago). If I stay over on Christmas Eve I get a stocking! I didn’t expect one this year as we won’t be together this year. (It’s a good thing I already told her I’d made other plans, as I would have had to have cancelled anyway, since I am now in Tier 4, though she is not (yet!).

Anyway - these two lovely little girls were peeking out of the top of the stocking and my sister said (I think!) that they could go straight on my tree! I love them! Very Scandi!

You can see some other decorations too. The oldest ones are the crystal icicles which were always on our tree from as early as I can remember. I assume my parents got them when we lived in Germany. There are about 12 of them and I treasure them. The ball with stars was a box of half price decorations I bought just before Christmas the first year I had Christmas in my own house in the UK after I moved back here from the US. That would have been 1995. I bought quite a few decorations on sale that year (I think from BHS?) and they all still go on my tree every year.

The traditional looking St Nicholas in the bottom right corner was bought last year in a garden centre! I have a growing collection of Santa and St Nicholas decorations.

In other news: I never left the house today, not even for exercise. It was TOO wet and grey. More drama unfolded with the closed borders and a backlog of trucks/lorries at the port in Dover, who are now stuck and can’t return to their homes all over Europe. I enjoyed watching the Christmas special of All Creatures Great and Small this evening. Looking forward to the next season!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.