At Dusk, Railroad Tracks Near Tyrone, PA

My husband and I spent Christmas day with my family in McAlisterville, and then on the day after, we went and visited my husband's father's widow, Lois, in Carrolltown, not far from Johnstown. We had a delicious lunch at Off the Rak in Ebensburg, followed by a lovely visit which included the exchange of gifts.

We left around 3:30 so we could make our journey home in daylight, and there was just enough time for a 20-minute stop at Plummer's Hollow, not far from Tyrone. We parked the car by the river, carefully crossed the railroad tracks, and took a tiny hike up the hill into the woods. (A woods and waters photo is included in the extras.)

The scene above shows the railroad tracks looking toward Tyrone, as we crossed them the second time to head back to the car. Light was fading but the rails seemed to be shining; we just made it home before full darkness fell.

These railroad tracks are familiar to me, as I've ridden these rails several times before, when traveling to Harrisburg to visit my sister. In fact, you may see an additional photo of these tracks (but looking in the opposite direction) not far from these in a prior blip.

As the daughter of a railroad brakeman, I always enjoy trains and railroad tracks. There is a favorite railroad tune that I'm not sure I've used before, so here it is: Gordon Lightfoot, with Canadian Railroad Trilogy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.