Blipmeet in a Cold Climate

It’s that time of year again when my Ferroli boiler decides to make life for me just a bit harder. It’s not as though I was brought up in my formative years with a centrally heated house, but when life has evolved into having heaters in every room warmed by central heating, one comes to rely on them and dispense with things like coal fires or stoves. Unfortunately all I have now is a convector heater to warm the open plan part of the house and a radiant heater in HL’s man cave. The bedrooms and the bathrooms are ice caves.

The fault seems to be the same one addressed 18 months ago when gaskets failed and heat escaped melting everything in sight. I have it from the horse’s mouth that Ferroli boilers are nasty pieces of engineering, but to change boilers in a listed building, with the inability, apparently, to customise exit flues in the stone work, means a very limited selection of alternatives and the cost could be enormous.

I am beyond despair as I wait to hear what the verdict on repair is. I have an insurance policy, so a repair may not worry me financially, but it is the waiting for parts and the ongoing unreliability of the boiler which is most upsetting.

Boilers apart, it was a beautifully sunny day and relatively mild. I was waiting, wearing 3 layers of woolies to welcome two blippers coming to experience life at the cold front, namely Magpie and SooB. Once they started shivering and their lips turned blue, I promised myself I would bring out the duvets and blankets

They, however, are strong women and not a single shiver was discernible. Whether or not that was due to the consumption of a bottle of red wine, I could not possibly say, but we had a great afternoon and already making alcohol infused promises to venture into the Gallic countryside at some point.
Lovely to see you SooB and Magpie!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.