Baby it’s Cold Inside!

How to hit a lady when she’s down? Tell her her boiler is kaput and she needs to get a new one and not any new one, but one of the very few that fits the double flue vents in the stone wall of the listed building she lives in. Also tell her that she will be without adequate heating for the foreseeable future.

With things going belly up, I’m almost scared to put a washing on in case the washing machine gives up on me too.

To combat the cold inside the Dower House, despite the temperature being a balmy 9° outside (I don’t want to imagine what it will be like when it gets really cold outside), I whiled away 2 hours with a school friend in the café attached to the French Institute on George IV Bridge. She brought with her homemade tablet and a tincture of spiced gin. The former was sampled with the coffee and was deemed excellent.

Now I await the arrival of David and Luca on their way home after swimming, and also phone calls from a heating engineer and a bank. Life is so exciting in the Dower House today, you’ve got to believe me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.