I Don’t Give a Fig......

........ to anyone. These are mine.
Having until recently connected packaged figs with their derivative, syrup of figs and all that that entails, I have been somewhat reluctant to consume, any lest there is an unwarranted digestive reaction. However, any untoward consequence of eating them conservatively during the festive period has somewhat offset the excess intake of rich food.

I have almost eaten all the leftovers from Christmas Day and made a pan of vegetable soup using the turkey juices and the gravy. Nothing has been wasted which gives me great pleasure. Having been brought up in the wartime, it is almost a sin to throw out food or not finish what is on your plate. The apocryphal hungry little African boys of my childhood are still not being fed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.