What the.........?

I am not sure what these pink bowler hatted men are doing flaunting themselves as they stride down the Mound underneath the General Assembly Hall of the Church of Scotland; very daring I would have said to be so brazen so near the home of the dark suited Presbyterian hierarchy. Cocking a snoop perhaps, or maybe there is an altogether less confrontational motive.
I saw no explanation and might have missed them altogether had my friend of yesterday’s meeting not drawn my attention to them.

I was in town to pay a visit to the Portrait Gallery exhibition of portrait painting and I confess, the ulterior motive of keeping warm. I may become one of the haunters of libraries along with all the other people seeking sanctuary in warm places. The afternoon’s warm place was the gym, but enough of that.

Edinburgh is full to bursting with case dragging tourists come to celebrate Edinburgh’s Hogmanay Party. Presumably the throng that came to celebrate Edinburgh’s Christmas Markets have dragged their cases homeward. I wonder if the visitors will all be so bright eyed and enthusiastic when they waken up on New Year’s day to a ghost town with nothing open. By then the City Fathers will be past caring, greedingly counting the filthy lucre in their coffers.
Excuse my cynicism at this time of peace and goodwill to all men.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.