I was woken up very early by a fly in our room, this was then followed by a right old racket from very raucous seagulls.  I was awake for ages, but must have fallen asleep.  When I eventually woke up again I was exhausted, so no run today.

We packed a picnic and headed to Clouds Hill, the home of TE Lawrence.  A very interesting little house in the woods.  I knew nothing of him except that he was Lawrence of Arabia, but left somewhat better informed, and with TT wanting to read The Seven Pillars of Wisdom.  We had our picnic on the hillside above the house and watched tanks go by!

Our next stop was at the nearby village of Moreton where we visited the church and admired its beautiful windows.  We then went in search of TE Lawrence’s grave and had a wander around the walled garden.  TT was keen to go to the tank museum (I wasn’t), but he decided it was too late, so we headed to Lulworth Cove and walked to Durdle Door, where we spent some time on the beach.  Even after 5pm if was busy.  We can’t imagine how busy it must have been earlier in the day.  TT and BB paddles and I read my book.  A lovely way to round off the day.

This is Clouds Hill.  The little round window is a porthole in the bedroom. The extras show a window in Moreton Church and the coast at Lulworth.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.