Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tiny Rain Forest Adventures - Part 1

The Tinies are off on their Big Tiny Rain Forest Adventure and, happily, they had internet available this morning.  They were over the moon about finding a Splendid Leaf Frog at their very first stop.  As you can see, the frog was very accommodating, allowing the Tinies to climb into position.  I am certain that all the tiny camera shutters were clicking away at warp speed.  Stay tuned for the continuing adventures...

Technical details:  well, actually there aren't any.  The image is my screen saver (from my own adventures in the rain forest) and I used museum "putty" to stick several Tinies to my screen.  I managed a couple of shots before Timothy Tiny fell rather spectacularly from the screen.  Hey ho.

In other news, I witnessed a moment in nature earlier today that I kind of wish I'd missed.  I was up in my sanctuary when I heard the oddest sound from outside - a sound that I can't really describe but that made the hair on my neck tingle.  I looked out and saw a small raptor spread out on the lawn with a woodpecker in its clutches. The woodpecker was still very much alive and the hawk was in a very vulnerable position on the ground.  I had a decision to make and I reluctantly decided that my best choice was to do nothing.  Even if I'd scared the hawk off, there was a very good chance the woodpecker was mortally wounded.  And, I also know that if hawks don't eat, they die.  The hawk was on the ground with the woodpecker for at least 5 minutes.  I left the window for a minute, and when I returned, both were gone.  So either the hawk took it's catch somewhere to eat, or the woodpecker escaped.  I'll never know. What I am not sure of is whether it was a Downy or Hairy woodpecker on the ground - very difficult to tell from the angle I was at.  I'll know soon enough though, as we only have one female Hairy that visits the yard and if I don't see her in the next week, I'll know it was her.  While Downy Woodpeckers share territory with others of their kind, Hairy WP's don't.  

Hubs and I did the gym again today.  That makes my 4th day this week.  I'll probably try to go tomorrow just to get my five days in.  Today was treadmill, abs and some weights.  

I also successfully installed Quicken on my PC - it was alarmingly easy, which makes me a little nervous.  

Much rain today, but tomorrow should be nicer.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.