Boxing Day

Boxing Day - the day after Christmas. I prefer it to Christmas Day. Although in my sister’s household, the present opening often overflows into it, especially this year when one of her boys and his wife were at the in-laws yesterday, and so they only arrived with us today.

So this was a ‘first’ this year at my sister’s house! Actual boxing on Boxing Day! No, it’s not traditional - the day has nothing to do with the sport (I know my American friends will be asking). Little Aneeta seemed to enjoy it, as well as her mum and dad and one of her uncles and one of her aunts. She also did a bit of weight lifting. All in her fancy new Christmas frock.

Besides boxing, Aneeta and her little sister Jasmine were treated to Boxing Day afternoon tea and biscuits in Alfie, my campervan (See Extra photo). This time their ‘high’ little chairs were brought in to make it easier for them to sit at the table. (NOT High-chairs, said Aneeta, as I seemed to have got that wrong!)

We had another feast this evening - leftover meat from yesterday, bubble and squeak from the leftover vegetables, and plenty of bread and cheese and pâté. The men of the family like to compete on how high a sandwich they can actually make. Games were played and there was relaxing in front of the fire. A wonderful day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.