"I wanna go home"

A late afternoon run today. Along Ponsonby Road. At the Three Lamps end of the street I came past a busker sitting on a stool outside one of the "big Aussie banks". Although known as the Australia and New Zealand Bank, and having just taken over the National Bank of New Zealand, neither of its parts are owned in New Zealand.

I couldn't help but find ironic that the song he was singing as I went past was Sloop John B. Bank profits have much more importance than ensuring everyone has a home; a place that he or she can call their own.

Here are the words:

We come on the sloop john b
My grandfather and me
Around nassau town we did roam
Drinking all night
Got into a fight
Well I feel so broke up
I want to go home

So hoist up the john bs sail
See how the mainsail sets
Call for the captain ashore
Let me go home, let me go home
I wanna go home, yeah yeah
Well I feel so broke up
I wanna go home

The first mate he got drunk
And broke in the capns trunk
The constable had to come and take him away
Sheriff john stone
Why don't you leave me alone, yeah yeah
Well I feel so broke up I wanna go home

So hoist up the john bs sail
See how the mainsail sets
Call for the captain ashore
Let me go home, let me go home
I wanna go home, let me go home
Why don't you let me go home
(hoist up the john bs sail)
Hoist up the john b
I feel so broke up I wanna go home
Let me go home

The poor cook he caught the fits
And threw away all my grits
And then he took and he ate up all of my corn
Let me go home
Why don't they let me go home
This is the worst trip Ive ever been on

So hoist up the john bs sail
See how the mainsail sets
Call for the captain ashore
Let me go home, let me go home
I wanna go home, let me go home
Why don't you let me go home


I hope he has a home to go to. Not just shelter.

Worth a look in large (for the reflections especially). This is my second prospective entry in the one street project started by Kendall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.