Armistice. The last day

The final day of the year. Of 2018. A year of highs and lows. Many tears shed with bereavements, that this time last year we never dreamt would happen. Families still struggling to come to terms with the unfairness of life, needless loss, and unending pain. It's been hard.

The highs we celebrated. After over 10 years I finished writing, edited and self published my book. My first book! A proper real life book, with a title; a fancy cover; an authors name. My name! How amazing was that feeling in June. I actually achieved something in my life, that perhaps no-one else in my family has ever done. So a big thank you to all my kind and loyal friends and family for buying a copy (& reading it!) and perhaps humouring me with your positivity - heartfelt praise from all of you. Again, thank you because it meant a lot. I might try and do it all again, but I might not! I'm making no promises.

Then there was Daniel's graduation. Another huge achievement with 4 years of hard work at last paying off.

Henry completed his year at Cromer Academy passing his GCSEs and is now enjoying the next phase of college life, training to be an electrian. He is a natural I'm sure.

Mollie completed her first year at Uni and followed this with work experience for a tv production company in Norwich. She is well in to her second year, having already interviewed Joe Pasquale for a project in her first term, and sorted out her accommodation for her 3rd year.

Jon has worked hard all year on making our house into a home. I couldn't be prouder, or luckier.

Today after dropping Dan at the station, we've been to Norwich, and while J, M & H went shopping, I spent 2 hours in the Armistice exhibition in The Castle Museum. I had as much time as I wanted, and read all the signs next to all the exhibits. The poppy photo was taken in there. It was an early birthday treat to myself as we all know that nothing is open on New Years Day! We then met up and had lunch in the museum cafe. I also bought myself new boots in the sales, so happy me. We were home at about 3pm and haven't done much since. Mum and dad have just arrived for a couple of days, so we will see them tomorrow evening. Tonight, we will be on taxi duties, so I'm thinking it may be nice to see the new year in from the pier. We normally just sit in front of the tv!!

Happy New Year to my family, friends and fellow blippers. May good health and happiness envelop you in 2019.

Resolutions, i have many. I going to try and slow down. Have earlier nights. Spend less time at work, and worry less about it. I also plan to try harder to seek out hope and positivity in the most negative of situations. That's the hardest for me.

Finally, as with every new year - I'd like to lose a stone or 2!!

:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.