Birthday cards

As with every year, I’ve been very fortunate to receive lots of lovely birthday cards - all these and more that wouldn’t fit on the mantelpiece. Thank you to everyone. No mean feat for my friends, to get them delivered before 1st. It means a lot, thank you. I have a niece and a close friend who are also New Years Day babies, and for the 2nd time today I apologise to them both as I was late posting; their cards should arrive tomorrow!!

I had a really bad nights sleep, so have felt tired all day. Jon and I got up earlyish, and drove to Sandringham. Unfortunately we didn’t see any royals, but it was fairly buzzing in the country park. We had tea/coffee and a quick look around the shop, then took a very scenic drive home via some lovely villages along the coast road.

After lunch, I had a doze, then a chat with Manda (who had sent me a personalised birthday card which is my favourite!). It was getting dark at 3.30 when I potted up some bargain pansies into my pots and planters by the stream. Last years bedding plants were all but gone, so it has jazzed it up a bit. It was too dark for a photo though, by the time I had finished.

At 5.30 I went in to Cromer to pick Mollie up, while Jon drove in to Norwich to collect Daniel. He went to Bristol yesterday morning by train to see the new year in with old uni friends. Getting out of Cromer was a nightmare. The fireworks are a huge draw for thousands and every road was gridlocked. We got home at 6.30 and hastily put the Morrison’s curry in the oven. Mum and dad had planned to join us for nibbles, but dad isn’t feeling well. It is getting cold out, so they’ve stayed in the warm. I’ll go and see them after work tomorrow. Once Jon and dDan were back we had dinner and now all feel stuffed.

So that’s the end of my long Christmas break. Work tomorrow :(. I couldn’t feel less keen on something. But the positive, it’s only a 3 day week. After that I’m back to 5 days in the office, instead of Wednesday working from home which I did for 2 months up to Christmas. Policies and bureaucracy. So I guess a return of headaches and tension. Bloody Norfolk is still stuck in the Dark Ages in so many ways. But I’ve got to look at the positives, and now see if I can get part time work if I’m not allowed to do any from home. That will still give me a rest midweek, and time for myself. So that’s a goal for this year. More time for myself.

Ironman 2 on tv, so I’m just reading bits and pieces.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.