Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Frisky

The bullocks were being very frisky as they forded the Ystrad, so I stayed the other side of the gate for this one. Once they'd scampered to the other end of the field I stepped in for a better view of the gorse.

A minute earlier I'd been watching a pair of dippers at this very spot but I think they felt a little crowded out. A few yards downstream was a solo male goosander, the first I've seen on this little river. An otter has been spotted here frequently over the past few months, but no luck for me today.

After this morning stroll I spent a couple more hours at my Mum's before journeying back to Yorkshire. I found myself on the Holyhead-London train between Rhyl and Crewe, which was busy, but otherwise it wasn't too bad, and everything was running to time. I used the journey to finish Little Drummer Girl and start ABC Murders , the recent TV adaptations, not the books.

New Year's Eve will be a quiet night in with the kids. I'm not sure if they have any aspirations of staying up until midnight.

Happy New Year everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.