biddy

By biddy

New Year's Eve.

I wish everyone out there a Happy New Year. I hope for some of you it will bring better health, and for all of us a sense of renewal. 
 We had a  long walk in the park this afternoon. The day was grey but mild. 
Three years ago I could hardly walk more than 100 yards as I had damaged a muscle in my back.
Now to be able to walk 3 and a half miles brings me a sense of achievement. 
I have a lovely chiropractor to thank for that. 
People who encourage us are the salt of the earth.
 My aim is to be able to climb up to Easedale Tarn in the Lake District, one more time. 
http://www.thelakedistrict.org/things-to-do/walks/easedale-tarn/
It is not as steep as the other fells we have climbed in the past, but to me it is such a beautiful place. 
I have managed just under 10 miles this week, accumulated of course, not all at once.
Generally we do a 3 mile circular, mostly in the mornings, if the weather is clement. 
I have now used up my extras. 
The first one is a puddle, the second two silver birches side by side, and the third yellow flowering gorse. 
   We are not going out this evening but no doubt the fireworks will begin at midnight. 
I sometimes watch them from the loft bedroom window. 
                   So the year is ending and the new one is knocking at the door. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.