Early Morning Arrival

I have to admit that I'm rather enjoying this street photography lark. I'm very gradually gaining confidence in pointing my camera at people. I'm a little surreptitious. I try to pretend that I'm framing a broader shot and that I'm waiting for them to move out of the way. I'm finding that a big smile is generally quite effective at disarming people's concerns. I've not been slapped in the face yet! I was drawn to post this one mostly for those two shadows, which illustrate just how low the sun was in the sky, shot at 9am this morning and no more than a hundred yards away from where yesterday's blip was taken.

I'm feeling my way with this but I guess I'm trying to find a story, a vignette, a captured moment which begs questions to which there will never be any definite answers. This couple had just got out of a taxi and I presume live in one of the apartments in this classy old mill conversion. Had they come from the airport? Where might they have travelled from? Why has the man got no luggage? What is their relationship? She had a lovely smile for me, but he was more circumspect. Perhaps they were involved in a tryst? What are the chances of them ever coming across this post? And how would they react if they did? It's all a little bit voyeuristic and feels somewhat naughty! I love it.

Your reaction to yesterday's shot of my office building took me by surprise. Thank you all so much. I guess I take it for granted rather, but it does have a lot of character. I processed it more heavily than I usually do these days, but that was to reflect my mood as much as anything else. It had been a strange up and down day, including some very sad news. Today has been better. It's still been a struggle but I've made reasonable progress - and I also got out for a brisk run at lunchtime. I had to run at a good pace in order to keep warm. It was perishing cold ... but no snow here yet. I've been drooling over all the wintry scenes that have been blipped today, even from my own county of Yorkshire. I know I shouldn't say it because the snow can bring a lot of misery to certain people, but bring it on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.