Perishing

Brook Street #2

Today's deadline was met with enough bug-free functionality to give an effective demonstration of our new software. It apparently went well and I can now breathe a sigh of relief. I can't exactly relax, however, for other work has been put on hold for the past few weeks and that now has become pressing. At least some of that is more conceptual, which I'm much better at dealing with than trying to fathom the quirks of code that I wrote many years ago.

The weather today has been really quite nasty. It's certainly felt raw enough to snow, but the early sleet has now turned to honest rain. I think snow would be preferable. It often feels somehow less cold when it snows. Is that a psychological thing? I know people sometimes say that it can be too cold to snow. I'm not sure that there can be any substance to that.

I popped down to Brook Street (my One Street) before catching the train into the office. I feel quite a sense of anticipation around street photography at the moment, wondering what's going to pop up to photograph - because my experience is that something interesting always does just seem to magically appear. I had my doubts about that for a while today but then this woman came into shot having a major struggle with her umbrella in the wind. I was tempted to pursue her down the street, but decided to stay reasonably discreet - and dry under the awning from which I was seeking a bit of shelter. It really was perishing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.