Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

Looking back at 2018

It's the time of year when I look back at what I've done photographically over the last 12 months.

Not a lot really, due to my difficulties in getting out much nowadays. There are about 6750 photos in my Lighroom catalog that were taken in 2018 - but 1300 of them were taken with the Naturewatch camera using automatic triggering (there were at least 2000 more photos taken with that device which were immediately deleted). The remaining 5450 are fairly lightly edited down each day, though in some cases I have kept both RAW and JPEG versions. Not surprisingly, this is the lowest number of photos I've taken in a year for quite some time.

The most used camera was the Panasonic Lumix G9, followed by the Fujifilm X-T2 and then the Olympus Pen F. The lumix 14-140mm was the most used lens, followed by the Olympus 60mm macro and then the Fujifilm 18-135mm.

The Naturewatch camera has probably provided more entertainment than anything else, though with the very small sensor, relatively low resolution and wide angle lens the quality of the images has not been very good, and as small birds and a few squirrels have been the main subjects, the wide angle lens has covered bushes moving in the background, which has resulted in a huge number of photos with nothing of interest in them, and has meant a lot of time deleting these.

Lightroom has remained my main application for storing and processing the images, though I do use Capture One quite a lot as well (better for conversion and processing, but not as convenient for 'Digital Asset Management), and I have probably used Affinity Photo more than Photoshop.

PS: Many thanks to everyone who commented etc on my 7th Blipday yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.