Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Some more work on the Watch Box.

Happy New Year to you and hope it will be a great one for you all.

     I have been in the w/shop today cutting the wood for the lid of the box. (the wood is Padauk) It took me some considerable time to cut the wood to length and also cut a groove in them so I can slide a piece of glass to form the complete lid. Grooves are shown in extra 1. I used my table saw with the blade adjusted to 5mm high to form the grooves.
     In the second extra I have actually glued one end as you can see by the clamps. 
     In the third extra, I have taken a shot of the whole lid but the far end is not yet glued. Once I have put the glass in I will then glue it up.

Before I put the glass in I will be sanding it all to a smooth finish and then applying some Danish Oil.

     The bottom of the box will be covered with a Royal Navy coloured felt.
I have yet to make the actual watch holders/stands but will show you later when I come to do that job.

Still quite a bit to do yet, but pleased with how it has gone so far. 

I hope you are enjoying the process as much as I am enjoying making it.

Hope you are all well. Take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.