Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Don't blink....

...or you may miss the moment.

This is yard bird #2 for 2019, the common Mourning Dove.  On most days of the year this species can be found on our property either up in the trees or gathering up seeds under the feeders.  In fact, this species can be found pretty much throughout the US.  And here is a startling fact - they are our country's most hunted game bird!  Kind of creepy if you ask me, but to each their own I guess.  Anyway, this shot was taken at just the exact moment that the dove blinked.

My mojo continues to be mostly absent, something several of my other blip friends who were in Costa Rica also seem to be experiencing.  I guess it is really hard to come back to winter in N. America and the UK after experiencing all the colors and vibrancy of a the tropics.  But, only 10 days until I head to Arizona and I am certain that will reignite my mojo.

Looking forward to lunching with one of my besties, Ellen, tomorrow.  Can't wait to see her and catch up on life.  

And, yes, I made it to the gym again today - fifth day this week so goal has been met. I spend about a half hour on the treadmill - not running because I'm not, nor have I ever been, a runner - walking a 14.6 minute mile.  That's a good pace and keeps my heart rate at a healthy rate.  Then, I do stretching, abs and weights.  I have always liked working with weights, so am rather enjoying that part of it.  Plus, it will make it easier to heft around my gear.

Nothing else new to report.  Four days into the year and 13 days into the government shutdown, making it the third longest shutdown in our history.  I am so disgusted with our elected officials and their inability to work together.  A shame we can't put them all in an enforced time-out.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.