Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Just a Nuthatch

Yard bird #3 for the year is the ever-present White-breasted Nuthatch.  Usually nuthatches are in constant motion, but this guy stayed on his lovely mossy perch for a very long time, perhaps to give me a better chance at a good shot, perhaps to contemplate life, perhaps to digest the bit of suet he'd just consumed.  Or perhaps none of the above.  Hard to tell with nuthatches.  Anyway, it was coming onto 4 in the afternoon and I didn't have a shot, so I was quite happy that he obliged.

Had a wonderful lunch with my bestie, Ellen, today.  We lingered over a glass of wine, some Caesar salad and a couple of appetizers, laughing and talking as one does with long-time friends.  The restaurant was blessedly quiet and the waitress was quite content to let us linger which we both appreciated.  Drive to and from in pouring rain wasn't much fun, but I'm tucked in now and ready for a quiet evening with hubs.

We'll have MIL over tomorrow for Sunday dinner - I think Hubs is planning something involving pasta which is sure to be a big hit.  Like many who suffer from dementia, she lost her sense of taste quite a number of years ago, but the symbolism of pasta with her Italian heritage is very comforting to her and she always enjoys it.

I have gone the entire day without once looking at the news, but I suppose I will take a quick look now.  If for no other reason than to see what new insanity our government has gotten up to in the last 24 hours.  

Cheers, people.
Deb

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.