potato & kale "love" soup

mmmmmmm . . . . made with kale from the farm, and stirred with a wooden spoon hand made by my dad out of cherry. Funny story, this spoon was originally given to my first husband John. Dad had inscribed on it "John's Magic spoon" with a wood burning tool. John was a chef for many years before becoming a teacher and yes, he left me for another woman in 2004. John did not take this spoon with him when he moved out. When Steven and I got together and were planning our wedding, we asked my dad if he could "fix" this spoon to better suit us. I will never forget the smile on dad's face when he handed us back the spoon, all sanded and re-done, which now reads, "Cookin with Love Magic spoon" and has the addition of 2 hearts.

This makes me smile and feel so much love for my dad. He is still with us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.