flavia13

By flavia13

VIEW WHILST SIPPING COFFEE

Just a short trip out today to Esthwaite Water and then a gentle walk up to Near Sawry to Hilltop.  Of course Beatrix Potter's house was shut as usual at this time of the year but we found out it will be open from 10th February so must try and go back there before it gets too busy.

I love Esthwaite Water, it is one of the lesser known lakes, is privately owned and so much quieter than some of the other lakes.  It's only about a mile and a half long but is stunning.

The main blip is the view that I was "forced" to look at whilst sipping my coffee and eating my Panini.  The tiny café has been taken over and had a bit of a refurbishment.  It is so much better.  Still quite basic, but has a lovely log burner, new flooring and a new large picture window straight  out onto the lake.  The menu is fairly basic too but perfectly OK if you want a cooked breakfast, or a Panini or ciabatta. 

The extras are of my darling hubby enjoying that view plus a view overlooking the lake from close to Near Sawry.  Stunning light playing on the tops of the mountains this afternoon.

The Beatrix Potter walk, it's only a mile each way, has lots of signs about the wildlife in the area but appropriately named after Beatrix's characters, including my favourite Squiggle Nutkin (oops sorry I can't get out of the childhood habit of calling Squirrels squiggles, still do it all the time.

I'm pretty unfit, partly due to me, but also partly due to previous knee and back problems.  I can't do the heavy walking that I used to like any more but I could and WILL do a lot more of these lower level gentle walks.  I figure that two miles walking in the fresh air has got to be better than sitting indoors.  I am planning/hoping to do this sort of thing about 3 times a week and some of you have inspired me to do this as well as helping me find out places I never knew about and want to investigate.  So looking for lower level walks of up to 5 miles round trip with access to toilets (a must these days!!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.