landscaping start

Here is the start of the landscaping at our new home that I mentioned previously - and a larger view. You can see where the new fence has been installed and there are a bunch of fence posts all over the yard! We had the fence guys install them. The ones closest in the photo will be used to create a privacy fence for our hot tub that has followed us here all the way from CT, and the 6 posts that are closer to the fence will be used to create a pergola with cross beams and grapevines. My mom is giving us a rectangular outdoor dining table & chairs that will go underneath it. The grass will be removed and a combination of shell in some areas and pavers in the other will take it's place.

Florida friendly plants will be added and a few new trees too. The queen palm that you see way back by the fence (and 2 others like that one) will be removed tomorrow. These palms are not in great shape and they have these palm nuts that drop and are such a nuisance. The dogs try to eat them and Chloe definitely succeeded, then woke us up a number of times last night throwing them up - yuck! So they are now all being removed. The grass will get an herbicide treatment and will be dug up with a Bobcat! It will be interesting to see how this will all flow . . . I am working with Ann, who is great at coordinating, designing & choosing plants, Len who has done pavers for us before and is great, and today I met Grant the landscape guy and Dale (my dad's name) the shell guy. I think it will work out great and I will keep you posted here.

I find it hard to believe, but I have finally caught up with posting my blips. HooRaY! I continued to take photos during my moving in period, but did not post them for about a week and a half . . . now I am up to date! I have added a few days/blips recently, so if you have time and are interested, just use the calendar to navigate backwards. I have still not unpacked my art supplies, nor done any blogging, but now that I have completed my goal of filling in my blips, I hope I will turn my attention there! Thanks for visiting & your support!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.