The second half of life..

By twigs

Summer fun

After an interesting night's sleep in my new van I was given the full 'guided tour' and the basics of how everything works this morning......in daylight.  A lot to remember, but I know I'll learn.  It turns out, their name for the van was 'Gerty'.  I'd love to call her Gerty but as that's my sister's dogs name, I can't see that we'll be having 2 Gerty's in the family!
 
Have to say, M & J (the couple I’ve bought the van from) were absolutely delightful.........helpful, kind, generous and sooooo easy to chat to.  We spent a good wee while over breakfast chatting about this and that before it was time for me to leave them to get on with their plans.  After the thank yous and farewells I tentatively took off towards the main south road........
 
The van drives very easily and it took no time at all until I felt very easy about handling her.  I'm pretty sure I'm going to enjoy the new level of space and luxury she brings to camper-vanning :)
 
Decided to stay in Taupo for the night at the NZMCA park........just in case I had any 'issues' I knew there would be plenty of helpful and knowledgeable people around!  Before I headed to the park though, I took the opportunity to enjoy the sights and sounds of Kiwis on summer holidays.  These guys were sure they were going to score the hole in one that would nett then $10,000.  Sadly, they didn't even hit the pontoon.  Apparently the big prize is struck on average once a fortnight though, which is a lot more often than I would have imagined.  
 
If you check out the horizon you can just make out the iconic shape of Ngaruhoe way off across the lake.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.