The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Grape hyacinth on its way

If you look very hard, you'll see a tiny flower emerging in the middle of the foliage. It's still green. The story here is that I saw this little bulb kit in Waitrose some time ago, but thought it was a bit expensive, so I left it. A few weeks later, I saw a brand new, identical kit on a charity stall for half the price! Steve planted it up before Christmas, and now it's beginning to flower. The 'Omega effect' of the weather, which is bringing snow to much of the Continent, but keeping the UK stuck in high pressure, has allowed us some high-pressure sunshine today.

I'm still binge-listening to 25 years of rock. I've reached 1971 now. Ironically, I've just heard Ted Heath's speech, the one with the terrible French pronunciation, about joining the "Common market". We're on to Decimalisation now, and the break up of the Beatles. I remember Decimalisation clearly. The back of my school jotters showed pictured of the new coins, and their equivalent value in old money, for many months. A Cadbury's Curly Wurly cost three New Pence: was that seven and a half d ? We suspected profiteering.

I'm still taking it easy though not poorly any more. Going climbing later, though. Don't expect I will be up to much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.