The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The river Frome near Wallbridge, Stroud

I had a moment to spare as I walked up to Rodborough school, so I paused at the bridge near Kwikfit to look back at the river. Stroud's canal, under restoration, gets more attention than the river, which doesn't run through the town centre. It's not broad and mighty, with impressive bridges, but just a few yards from here is a secret wildlife corridor, known to birdwatchers, walkers and dog walkers, but few others. It's the Frome banks nature reserve. I'll have trot along from the other end at Capel's Mill one day and see if I can get some bird/river shots.

Today was my first day back with the three kids I childmind. It was a pleasure to see them again, with their enthusiasm, energy and Good Manners (yes, the latter go a long way with me). They chose a scenic route back home, so we had a longer walk/run/play, instead of steaming straight back. The evenings are definitely getting lighter, and there was a superb sunset too.

It's still cold outside, despite the brilliant sunshine, so I made hot berry spiced soup for breakfast; gluten free bread that didn't sink (much) in the middle; and a square meal soup that includes everything but the kitchen sink: another of Hugh FW's Leftover cuisine suggestions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.