Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Sunshine at last

It may be winter outside, but in my heart, it's spring....

To be honest I don't feel as if we have had a proper winter yet, it has not been too cold at all, although the longer term forecast is for a very cold January. I went in search of snowdrops today and did not find one, not a single one everywhere I looked. However I was surprised to find this little tree covered in blossoms, it must be fooled into thinking it is spring, or maybe it is just a very early bloomer. So these tiny little blossoms have to replace my intended snowdrops.

When I got back from walking Murdoch early this morning, I found the tree surgeon and his team at the house already at work on our big old oak tree. It is very old and has been looking quite ill lately, so we booked the tree surgeon a few months back to thin it out and cut it back to encourage new growth. They could only cut it in winter when it was not growing or else such a severe cut could make it die of the shock. He also found evidence of disease from some moth which he removed and took away to be incinerated.

Tonight I have my first arts society committee meeting so I had better get myself sorted and ready for that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.