Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

NeW Space

I have blipped this building before from slightly different angles or times (I think).  It is quite a controversial building - the University of Newcastle  city campus for business and law.  I have been inside and it surprisingly works reasonably well.  The lecture rooms certainly have a view.  It is rather divisive, some people loving it and some people detesting it.  It cost around $95 million and was designed by  Lyons Architecture teamed with local firm, EJE Architecture. I think it opened in late 2016.   The blurb says:  "The building has been designed to maximise the commanding views to surrounding landmarks with views through to Stockton, across the harbour and up to The Hill. NeW Space shows the region at its best."

I don't mind it, it certainly stands out. 

An entry for Freyjad’s challenge today of Buildings and Architecture.  Thanks for hosting Wide Wednesday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.