Poppy is Here!

Look who’s here! I met Poppy off the train from Aberdeen this morning after her overnight ferry from Orkney. We spent about an hour at the nearest Costa to the station having an in depth debriefing session before trundling her case home to the Dower House and lunch.

She is here for 3 nights which is wonderful company for me even if there is a possibility of her getting frostbite before the three nights are over.

This afternoon, I introduced her as my Orkney friend of many talents to my Edinburgh friend of many talents. (I have of course my original friend of many talents now domiciled in Ireland). We spent an hour in her house admiring her patchwork chair upholstery and all things crafty of which there is a plethora, before returning to the Dower House in the gloaming.
We are currently sitting in companionable silence with our laptops and preprandial gin and tonics. It doesn’t get better than this.

On the heating front, I have chosen an estimate and the installation of the new boiler will start on Tuesday- Hallelujah! Watch this space!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.